Internship Assignment F: skills learned

It is hard to believe that I will be on a plane back to Minnesota (I am just beginning to realize how quaint that sounds) in five short weeks. During the time I have spent in London at my internship, I have learned a lot about myself and what I want to pursue in the future. The main skill that has helped me in this learning journey is my new found ability to understand how the facilitation of communication within small sections of an organisation (do you see what i did there? The Brits have gotten to me in their spelling…) can have a small, but significant impact on the larger organisation. It has been interesting to look back and look at the impact that I have had on the organization during my time here in London. 

My understanding has come from my work in research and publication of resources on the website. While at the time the tasks seamed mundane and like something I was overqualified for, I now know the truth. Looking back all of the work I did working with others to publish the best content possible has helped me to see the impact of the work I am doing for the influence of the organization in the yes of those who use materials we publish. It is interesting to see how the work I do is being used on an international level. It is so exciting for me to think that doctors or academics in various parts of the world could access the information I have published to assist them in some way. I know that when I read an online publication I usually don’t think of who wrote it and the work that went into it. Now, after having been on the other side of it, I will be more aware of the effort and work that goes into the publication of materials in an online platform. 

While most of my work is done independently at first, with the addition of contributors I am then able to enhance my personal impact on the organisation. Now that I have established myself in the office as a knowledgeable, responsible (read workaholic) intern I have been given more responsibility and an increase in variety of tasks. This, in turn, has also increased the amount and way in which I can contribute to the organization and the work we do in different areas. Looking back, I can see the variety of impacts I have had on the work that the organization does in a variety of areas. Through the work I have done I have also gained a deeper understanding of the different facets of the organisation. 

In the past, it has taken me some time to determine what I have learned from internship or class experiences. I am now able to go forward and explain what I have learned and the skills I have leaned. This  speaks to my new found confidence in my ability to articulate myself in a professional way. However, that is not the point of this post; just a side observation. 

Leave a Reply

