More than Tennis: BES reflection on Wimbledon (Villages of London)

I would like to begin by explaining the photo above; I chose this photo to show respect for the history and cultural staple that Wimbledon has become from its star status ass the place for top athletes to perform. While my post will rarely mention tennis, except through external blogs.

Before I begin illustrating my thoughts on Wimbledon, I need to place a disclaimer. I had a doozy of a time actually getting to Wimbledon. From missing my connection to the District line, to not realizing I needed to change to a different District line train in order to get to Wimbledon; once I was on the correct train it terminated early so I had to wait for another train going in the same direction. That all being said, I exited the tube station in Wimbledon already tired from my extended journey and a little frustrated at myself for making the errors that caused my delay. As a result of the state I arrived in Wimbledon in, I really had the energy for only a few activities; mainly centered around food. As I am sure you have come to find from my past posts, most of what I find interesting has to do with the cultural aspects of a situation; namely the art, food, or history,

The first stop on my cultural tour of Wimbledon brought me to The Original Fish and Chip Company where I enjoyed delicious fried cod sprinkled with salt, vinegar, and lemon with crisp chips.

fish

The next stop on my journey lead me through the a quiet neighborhood full of young families. Walking down the sidewalk hearing the crisp crunch of drying leaves under my shiny black riding boots made me nostalgic for fall in the midwest. The smell of damp leaves and grass as I walked past Wimbledon Common only intensified the sensory experience.

On my search for chocolate I found some interesting things/ First, parking here in the UK seems to be option as to which direction the boot or bonnet of your car faces. As shown here:

parking

Secondly, in my eyes the integration of long held tradition with modern convenience stroke a unique balance in Wimbledon. This was illustrated by this butcher shop

butcher

just two doors down from a Tesco Express. This shows how the community values the traditions of the past, but want to usher in modern conveniences. The same can be said for the heath of the community. On the same street I saw three herbal remedy and homeopathy stores scatter among a yoga studio. This shows how much value the people of Wimbledon put in their health. I would like to add that the large hill that portions of town are placed on also helps to keeps people in shape.

The main reason I hiked up the hill was to go to the lawn tennis museum, but the more interesting discovery for me on the hilltop was St. Mary’s church. Pictured below, this church caught my attention for its ornate, but subtle architecture and powerful presence in a grove of trees with a winding gravel driveway. The distinctive blue door was also something unique.

church

While the village of Wimbledon has a strong tradition gained from the media presence of the tennis championships held there, I found this charming village to be similar to any you would see in a film. The quaint streets and boutique shops gave this are a unique character that brings together many different cultures in a way that gives the area its unique character.

Leave a Reply

