Wilderness Roots

Today I went for a lovely hike in a state park type area, which was about 9 metro stops away from my apartment. It was great to be walking through the woods again; listening to the birds sing and the twigs snap under my feet. Climbing over rocks and banking brooks reminded me of some of my favorite trails in Minnesota.

While I was enjoying my stroll on the well groomed trails, I kept thinking abut the accessibility of a place like this. Clearly there would be almost no way for someone in a wheelchair to go along these trails, but I am wondering if there is – or ever could be – a way for people in wheelchairs to receive the same joy out of nature as I do.

I have a busy week ahead, but will hopefully be able to update everyone frequently, here on my blog or on Twitter with #HelpDC14

Leave a Reply

