Introduction

Before I begin to reflect upon my first week in Washington, D.C. I would like to tell you, my readers, a little more about me and what you can expect from my blog posts throughout the course of this summer. I am a sophomore Public Relations and Law/Politics/Society major at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa.

This summer, I will be interning for the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions committee. I received this opportunity, in part, thanks to the connections that I made during my first year at Drake.  I would not be here today if it was not for the many supporters that I have at school wand home. In addition, I received financial support from the Skay Fund for Social Justice at Drake Universty which strives to help out students like me who embody Drake’s mission of community service and active engagement in the local – or in this case national – community.

My blog posts throughout the summer will highlight intereting events that I attend, activities that I participate in, in addition to my insider perspective of how the legislative process works. In addition to my blog, you can follow my adventures on Twitter @AnnikaGrassl or with #HelpDC14.

 

One thought on “Introduction”

Leave a Reply

